Costing

Q&A: Deep Dive into the Universal Journal

By now, everyone has heard about the Universal Journal. It is a revolutionary change of the table structures in the Financials modules. Although the conceptual understanding is widely spread, how about the practical aspects of it? How can you get better, more integrated Realtime reports across the various modules such as Financial Accounting, Controlling, Material ledger and Profitability Analysis among others? 

Watch this prerecorded Webcast Q&A with FI/CO expert Paul Ovigele, to learn the following:

  • How does the Universal Journal replace previous FI/CO reporting?

  • What reporting options do you have with the Universal Journal Table ACDOCA ?

  • What are the new functionalities of S/4 HANA that can be viewed in the Universal Journal?

  • What are the Multidimensional Capabilities of the Universal Journal?

Q&A: Transitioning from Costing to Account Based CO-PA

SAP Help

THIS PRESENTATION WITH Paul Ovigele WILL COVER:

  • What is the difference between Costing and Account Based CO-PA?

  • What are the advantages and disadvantages of Costing vs. Account Based CO-PA?

  • What are the implications of activating both types of CO-PA?

  • What are the steps to transition from one type of CO-PA to the other?

Speaker:

Paul Ovigele, FI/CO Expert

Watch the prerecorded webcast by pressing play:

Get answers to the following questions asked in our Q&A:

Q: If you have BW based on Costing Based CO-PA, will this work for Account Based CO-PA?

Q: Can you still use Costing Based COPA in S/4 HANA?

Q: Is there an advantage of going to Account Based COPA before S/4?

Q: Comment on the 1809 release and the sort of merge of account based and cost based COPA

Q: Why activation of actual costing is optional in S4 HANA and can you provide a specific example?

Q: Did I hear you say there is no quantity from SD billing in universal journal in account based PA? 

Q: Costing based COPA allows for than one UoM per transaction.  (e.g.  25 bottles or 2500ml)  In ECC6 it seems account based Copa allows only one UoM per transaction.     How about S4Hana?

Q: If we currently have Costing Based COPA, and if we will shift to dual Costing+Account Based, how will historical data be migrated?

 

WHAT IS "ASK A FIXER" WEBCAST SERIES?

Ask a Fixer is a live ASUG-hosted Q&A session with one of ERPfixers’ top-rated SAP experts (“Fixers”) in a specific module or topic. In this real-time discussion session, you have the opportunity to pose your specific questions to a Fixer, who will provide an immediate answer during the forum. This is a great way to get quick answers to your pressing issues, as well as learn from questions posted by other users during the forum.

Ask A Fixer: Transitioning from Costing to Account Based CO-PA

Ask a Fixer

EXCLUSIVELY FOR ASUG MEMBERS!

Start: Friday, November 16th, 2018 12:00 PM (CT), 1:00 PM (ET), 11:00 AM (MT), 10:00 AM (PT)

End: Friday, November 16th, 2018 1:00 PM (CT), 2:00 PM (ET), 12:00 PM (MT), 11:00 AM (PT)

Controlling Profitability Analysis (CO-PA) is a great tool for analyzing financial information according to different dimensions which affect an organization’s profitability. There are 2 major types of CO-PA, Costing based and Account Based. There is also a lot of confusion about which one to use and the pros and cons of using one over the other and which type of CO-PA is compatible with the Universal Journal in S/4 HANA. Account based CO-PA has been improved in S/4HANA to offer more information in real time than ever available in the history of SAP. The Universal Journal now contains all account-based CO-PA data to meet most all reporting requirements.

Attend this live Q&A with FI/CO  expert Paul Ovigele, to learn the following:

  • What is the difference between Costing and Account Based CO-PA?

  • What are the advantages and disadvantages of Costing vs. Account Based CO-PA?

  • What are the implications of activating both types of CO-PA?

  • What are the steps to transition from one type of CO-PA to the other?

Speaker(s):

Paul Ovigele, FI/CO Expert, ERPfixers

WHAT IS "ASK A FIXER" WEBCAST SERIES?

Ask a Fixer is a live ASUG-hosted Q&A session with one of ERPfixers’ top-rated SAP experts (“Fixers”) in a specific module or topic. In this real-time discussion session, you have the opportunity to pose your specific questions to a Fixer, who will provide an immediate answer during the forum. This is a great way to get quick answers to your pressing issues, as well as learn from questions posted by other users during the forum.

If you cannot attend: The webcast will be recorded. The link to the recording will be posted here and emailed to all registrants.